No Term Limits for President?

May 21, 2009 by  
Filed under US Politics

Repeal the 22 amendment?

Repeal the 22 amendment?

I visited New York City once last year and fell in love with it. The constant buzz, fine dining, great baseball, the largest Apple Store in the world and really having everything at your fingertips.  Well, everything besides my car.

With all this said though, the NY representation is really beginning to cause me great concern.  Yesterday, we reported on Rep. Carolyn McCarthy [D, NY-4] bill, H.R. 2401, that would prevent individuals from buying guns if they were on the “do not fly list”.  We have Sen. Schumer and his handy work in the financial sector, and then there was today.

Today we discovered a bill that was introduced by Rep. José Serrano [D, NY-16], who represents the Bronx, that moves to repeal the 22nd amendment to the Constitution, H. J. RES. 5.  For those of you short on Constitutional knowledge, the 22nd amendment was established after the death of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, setting term limits for the Presidency.  It was designed…wait for it…to prevent tyranny.

Jefferson wrote in 1807:

“if some termination to the services of the chief Magistrate be not fixed by the Constitution, or supplied by practice, his office, nominally four years, will in fact become for life.”

Thomas Jefferson: Reply to the Legislature of Vermont, 1807. ME 16:293

So we decided to look at who else tried to repeal the 22nd amendment.  Below you will find 27 blatant attempts to repeal the 22 amendment in the last 20 years.  3 of the 27 were restructuring of the terms limits.

Sponsor Year Bill Comments
Guy Vander Jagt 1989 H. R. 404
Guy Vander Jagt 1989 H. J. RES. 84
Frank Guarini 1989 H. J. RES. 176 Called for one six year term for the President.
David O’B Martin 1989 H. J. RES. 264 120 Cosponsors
Jack Brooks 1989 H. J. RES. 6 Called for one six year term for the President.
Harry Reid 1989 S. J. RES. 36 1 cosponsor
Guy Vander Jagt 1991 H. J. RES. 61 14 cosponsors
Martin Sabo 1991 H. J. RES. 101 16 cosponsors
Peter DeFazio 1992 H. J. RES. 554 this was a true term limits resolution
Michael McNulty 1993 H. J. RES. 107 2 cosponsors
Barney Frank 1995 H. J. RES. 68 1 cosponsor
Mitch McConnell 1995 S. J. RES. 23 1 cosponsor
Steny Hoyer 1995 H. J. RES. 81 10 cosponsors
Michael McNulty 1995 H. J. RES. 71 2 cosponsors
Barney Frank 1997 H. J. RES. 38
David Dreier 1997 H. J. RES. 51
Steny Hoyer 1997 H. J. RES. 88 7 cosponsors
José Serrano 1997 H. J. RES. 19 1 cosponsor
Barney Frank 1999 H. J. RES. 24
José Serrano 1999 H. J. RES. 17 1 cosponsor
José Serrano 2001 H. J. RES. 4
Steny Hoyer 2001 H. J. RES. 39 6 cosponsors
José Serrano 2003 H. J. RES. 11 3 cosponsors
Steny Hoyer 2003 H. J. RES. 25 7 cosponsors
José Serrano 2005 H. J. RES. 9
José Serrano 2007 H. J. RES. 8
José Serrano 2009 H. J. RES. 5

So you tell us, what do you think needs to be done to the 22nd Amendment?

[poll id=”4″]